Alfred Nzo District Municipality is located on the north-eastern side of the Province of the Eastern Cape and stretches from the Drakensberg Mountains, borders Lesotho in the North, Sisonke District Municipality in the East and O.R. Tambo District Municipality in the South. In preparation for the 2011 Local Government Elections, the Demarcation Board in terms of the Demarcation Act of 2008 as amended declared the changes in some municipalities (inter-boundaries) where some local municipalities were to be moved from the other district municipalities to the other and also the amendment of municipal wards boundaries. 

Through that Alfred Nzo District Municipality is one of the affected district municipalities where it was declared that two Local Municipalities from O.R. Tambo District Municipality being Mbizana and Ntabankulu have been incorporated under Alfred Nzo District Municipality. The Alfred Nzo District now has a total population of 900 491 (as a result of changes) which accounts for 14% of the Provincial population, The geographical area has also increased from 6858 km2 to 11 119 km2.